The Hook Up (Game On #1) by Kristen Callihan

16803064._SY540_Image credit – thecrazyworldofabooklover

The Hook Up (Game On #1) by Kristen Callihan – 5 brilliant stars!!


OHMYGOD. OHMYGOD. OHMYGOD!!!

How have I not read this book sooner?!

This book came to me highly recommended by my fellow book lover, Steph – thecrazyworldofabooklover, so I had to dig in… Immediately. If you don’t follow her, you probably should. Just throwing that out there. At first I was exceptionally nervous that it was just another smut book, but the author, Kristen Callihan, didn’t disappoint.

Anna and Drew. Drew and Anna. I was freaking out! Anna is a quiet girl with a fire lit on her head and her soul. She blazes without knowing it, seeing herself as too curvy and quit possibly, fat. I felt for her. The pressures of the world and other girls who are a size two with perfect pristine bodies like that on magazines is a harsh standard to live up to. But Drew didn’t see her this way. And he is the sweetest guy on the face of the earth! You wouldn’t think so at first, but when you read his POV, you literally melt for this wonderful, sexy, romantic, beast of a man. *wipes away drool*

Life, she insisted, is how you live it and who you live it with,
not what you do to make a living.

These two start off on the wrong foot, but the attraction, the pull, is undeniable.While most might not think they go together, their differences bring them together into a perfect mold. He wants her and isn’t afraid to admit it. Chasing after the redhead who has captured his eyes and heart. But all she sees is a jock trying to mess with her head and, if she lets him to close, her heart.

Now, I hate the whole “insta-love” thing. It’s just not for me. I was a little torn when I started that it seems to be heading in that direction. Until I got to Drew’s POV. Then I was a smitten kitten. And how could anyone NOT be?!

She’s endless cream sprinkled with sugar, laid out on her bed like an offering of everything I’ve ever wanted.

swoon_2

DREW made this story what it was. He was the quarterback at college that everyone loved and admired. But he is not the stereotype. He is so much more. His words like a hot, liquid heat, and I melted like butter.

Anna irritated the ever living crap out of me, constantly pushing him away, wanting nothing more than sex with him. I’ll never understand that line of thinking, but to each his own, I suppose. But gradually you get a little further into Anna’s thinking and her torn emotions over what to do, to fall and possibly be crushed, or to run and precent it all in the first place. I get it. I know the need to run from something that might consume you. That emotion was very relatable to me. Anna will grow on you. I promise.

This story was amazing. I literally read it all day yesterday, stayed up late, passed out and dreamt about it, then woke up early to finish. While it’s not my typical read, I can’t deny the capability this author has at weaving fantastic characters and a story to fall in love with.


Available now on Amazon!

24852488

One thought on “The Hook Up (Game On #1) by Kristen Callihan

Leave a Reply

