The Game Plan (Game On #3) by Kristen Callihan

The Game Plan (Game On #3) by Kristen Callihan – 2.5 stars

This story follows Fionna, Ivy’s younger sister (second book in the series), and Ethan Dexter (Dex). While I still enjoy this series as an easy and enjoyable read, I find that with each book, the story line isn’t as strong.

While I did not hate the book, I just didn’t like it the same way I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in the series. I didn’t believe in these characters the way I believed in the those in The Hook Up and The Friend Zone.

Fi and Dex fall together instantly. While some people might like that, I prefer more angst, more chase, more tension. There just wasn’t much in this book. There may have been minor setbacks, mostly because of Fi not wanting to be with a Football player, but I feel like that was pushed aside quickly. I have standards in dating too, and if I were to make an exception to the rule, it wouldn’t be after one night of sleeping alone and thinking of the guy. The story seemed to be built on instalove, and I just can’t understand it. Don’t get me wrong, the other stories were coming close to instalove for me, but they at least held off. The characters fought against it. There was a build up.

In The Game Plan, it just felt like, wam, bam, thank you man. It was too much, too fast, and I felt there was just so much that left me thinking why.

Dex could have been my next love – like Drew & Gray. But unfortunately, you don’t learn much about him at all… Other than his virginity which was hinted at in the other books. I wanted to love Dex. He was the large and oddly attractive man sitting in the corner keeping mostly to himself. The quiet type. He seemed like such a big sweetie, but my heart wasn’t in this story. And to be honest, it didn’t feel like the author’s heart was either.

wzojm

The last half of the book was lagging. There wasn’t much draw. I kept skimming over paragraphs, uninterested in the overall story or where things were going. There was potential in the end with the big media blowout. When I reached that point, I was thinking finally! But it, again, fell flat. I was disappointed to say the least. For the amount of potential it had, the author didn’t live up to the fullest potential here.

So overall, I’m sorry to say, it just didn’t cut it for me. While Kristen Callihan is a fantastic writer as you can read in the first two books of this series, this one didn’t do it for me. I’m hoping the next book isn’t as much of a letdown as this.

While many have enjoyed this book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.


Available now on Amazon!

23204215

Leave a Reply

