The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1) by Michelle Hodkin

15854413Image credit – thecrazyworldofabooklover

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1) by Michelle Hodkin – 4 stars


Holy crap. Did that really just happen?! It did. And I am buzzing with anticipation to start the next book of this series!

I didn’t know what was real, what was a nightmare, what was a memory.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is the first book in a trilogy series and follows a girl – yes, Mara Dyer – who has the unfortunate circumstance of waking up in a hospital only to hear that her best friend, her boyfriend, and her boyfriend’s sister had died… And she was with them. The building had collapsed. She doesn’t remember any of it.

Thrilling. Creepy. Witty. Enticing.

Mara suffers from PTSD, and convinces her family to move. She can’t face the world she knows without the ones who stood by her every day. They move. Mara tries to start a new life in a new place while keeping her head on straight. But hallucinations and nightmares assault her mind more frequently. Or are they visions? Memories? Is anything real or is it all in her head?

Then Mara meets Noah Shaw, the most wonderful seventeen-year-old boy I’ve ever read. Ugh. He was instant swoon worthy. And the nose boops! I love the nose boops. He wants to get to know her, and she is attracted to him, but she fears getting close to this guy with a reputation that has Mara uncomfortable. But there is an undeniable pull, something else working to bring them closer. But is he real too? Can she believe him?

tumblr_inline_nnfdlyrr7x1rj5e8x_500

This is literally how I feel. Everything was good. Pieces were starting to fit together. But now?! Now, I just don’t know what to think. I was left holding my breath at the very end. So get the second book right away. Don’t be like me. Or you’ll be left waiting with a buzzing mind and NO answers.

The suspense is intense and thrilling. The dialogue is witty. The story pulls you in and holds you in its grip. You will need to know the answers. You will be intrigued with the strange happenings. You will need more Noah Shaw. You will crave the next book.

I was completely ensnared in this story. For those who know me, I’m a fan of all things dark and creepy. Anything that can make my skin crawl. And this book, recommended again by thecrazyworldofabooklover, did not disappoint!!

He would kiss me, right now after everything I’ve done. I was poison, and Noah was the drug that would make me forget.

If you have not heard of or looked into reading this book series, DO SO IMMEDIATELY. The first book hooks you… Especially that ending!! Ugh. *runs to read book 2*


Available now on Amazon!

11408650

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

