The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

19427379._SY540_Image credit – thecrazyworldofabooklover

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay – 5+++ stars


I have given 5 star reviews on many books as the highest rating. I wish I could give this one 10 stars. It’s that brilliant. After just finishing the book a while ago, I’m a hot mess. Every emotion. All over the board.

Love. Hate. Despair. Anger. Sadness. Longing.

It’s all here buried in the pages of a book that I cannot believe I haven’t read until now. This is probably one of the most amazing stories currently on my shelves. One of the most tragically beautiful, heartbreakingly wholesome, painfully real tales. This book didn’t leave my hands all day Saturday and all Sunday morning. I honestly don’t know if I was blinking besides for the moments I had tears in my eyes.

When I look at her now, I think for just one second,
that God doesn’t hate me so much after all.

large

At first I was confused and conflicted. I didn’t know what was wrong with this girl. Why she kept her mouth shut to everyone. Why she put on a show for the world, yet still never showing her true colors… And even with all this confusion, I couldn’t put it down.

She runs straight to a boy  who she doesn’t know, but has seen at school. He, too, has been struggling in life with the loss of his family. She finds comfort in his presence. She has her secrets. He has his. But they both sit in the quiet, and grow closer in the silence.

“When you look at her what do you feel?… Joy, fear, frustration, longing, friendship, anger, need, despair, love, lust?”
“Yes.”
“Yes, what?”
“All of it.”

This is a powerful story that sweeps you away with the most realistic characters I’ve read. It has taken me three days to write this review. I had a serious case of book hangover. I didn’t want to move on. Not because the story is beautiful, but because it is so real.

I honestly don’t know what else to say other than READ THIS BOOK. I recommend it to anyone. Young or old, man or woman, this book deserves a place in everyone’s heart.


Available now on Amazon!

16151178

Leave a Reply

