The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2) by Michelle Hodkin

15903262Image credit – thecrazyworldofabooklover

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2) by Michelle Hodkin – 4 stars


This series… Wow. I love the twisted and creepy, and this series doesn’t disappoint! I was on the edge of my seat with the need for answers. And – golly gee willikers – do we get some answers. My nerves were on edge for most of this book.

These people made me want to scream, rattle, and punch them. I hate that Mara is putting up with such awful characters! Not that they are awful. Just that they don’t believer her. And it can’t get much more frustrating than that! When people don’t listen to you, don’t believe what you know is true and real, especially those you love, it can drive anyone mad. Not clinically crazy though.

Thrilling. Riveting. Unnerving.

Mara is fighting her families belief that she is suffering from a mental illness. She knows what to do in order for people to see that she isn’t losing her mind. But when things keep coming at her, when bad incidents occur over and over, she isn’t sure she’s not losing her mind. It’s an inner struggle, an outer battle, and if it weren’t for Noah Shaw, she would feel completely and utterly alone.

I’ll walk forever with stories inside me that the people I love the most can never hear.

But honestly, for the first half of this book, I was frustrated with Noah. His silence and odd behavior was killing me. I was scared for Mara. What if he leaves? She’ll have no one who believes her? But the more I thought about it and the deeper into the story we went, the more I realized we don’t know much about Noah. About what he’s been though. About what secrets he might be keeping.

Mara was beginning to fill with doubt about their relationship as well.

This book was filled with quotes that I fell in love with. Here are some of my favorite ones by other fans who created these amazing images for the words.

I want people to understand the reason I’m giving this book 4 stars. These stories haven’t scared me. I am addicted to fear. I read Stephen King, Paul Tremblay, and more. I watch scary movies and television shows regularly. If there is a high to get from fear, I’m chasing it. Now these books, though they don’t scare me to the point that they might with others doesn’t mean that they aren’t good. For a YA series, these books are spot on. So if you’re too afraid to jump into the exceptionally dark SK books, then this series seems like an excellent choice!

And one final thought… The ending of this book? Ugh! I thought the first book ended with a bang. This one ends with a bite. Raw and savage. And I can’t wait to open the third book! Which I think I will go do now!


Available now on Amazon!

13643567.jpg

Save

Leave a Reply

