Whisper To Me by Nick Lake

18924953._SY540_Image credit – thecrazyworldofabooklover

Whisper To Me by Nick Lake – 4 stars


What a different type of book. I have to say I was oddly intrigued and hooked. Curious as to what our main character was talking about. She starts out by saying a few simple things.

“These are the things that you need to know:
1. I hear voices.
2. I miss you.
3. I wish I could take back what I did to you.
4. What they said in the news, what they said I did. It’s not true. You don’t have to worry about that.
5. I’m going to write it all down, all about Paris and why I broke your heart, and then I’m going to e-mail it to you. It will take you, I don’t know, a couple of days to read. So I will be waiting for you at 5:00 p.m. Friday by the windmill hole of Pirate Golf on Pier One, where we played that one time.
If you forgive me, when you’re done reading this, come and get me. Okay? Think of this as the most screwed-up love letter ever. I hope you come. That isn’t a thing you need to know, it’s just true. I hope you do. I hope that when you’ve read this, you’ll understand why I did what I did.”

Hook. Line. Sinker.

I was instantly wondering what the heck happened. Who this person was and what she did. This is definitely a YA book, but not like any I have read before. This book touches on traumas and triggers. However it was a little slow for me in the beginning. It seemed like a lot of information before the entrance of the boy she is seeking forgiveness from.

Cass. That is our main character, telling us her side of the story. What was going on in her life and why she felt the need to lie and keep others in the dark of her life. For me, she had her moments where I wanted to smack her upside the head, but at the same time, I could relate to her as well. Her conflicting emotions. The things she thought about herself. We are our own worst enemy, and this story really lays into that.

And the main boy, – who, by the way, you never learn his name – is the sweetest boy ever. He is sweet, quiet, and a little shy, but once he and Cass start to get a little closer and talk, more, you can’t help but think that he is the nicest boy ever.

People are green with envy. Yellow with cowardice. I am red with you.

This book focuses on the characters. There wasn’t a plot really because Cass is basically a retelling of her side of the story. Of the secrets and lies she told. Of the hurt she inflicted on others and the pain she was dealing with internally (and, you know, the voice). Usually, if there isn’t a plot I’m not much of a fan, but this was well done. Well written and intriguing.

Also, Nick Lake really leaves you hanging at the end. Fair warning. So if you pick it up, be ready to not get all the answers.


Available now on Amazon!

26030238.jpg

Leave a Reply

