A Field Guide to Catching Crickets by A. Wilding Wells

30303659

A Field Guide to Catching Crickets by A. Wilding Wells – 3.5 stars


This book started out as a tragic goodbye, and you didn’t understand why. Then, 10 years later, a wedding between friends and family brings them back together. The looming question: Did their love stand the test of time?

Hawke has loved Sloan since he was a child. For him, she was it. But now that she was returning after 10 years of silence, he was determined to find out. Did he mean anything to her back then? Did he mean anything to her now? If so, could they rebuild again?

I couldn’t help but root for Hawke. His determination to bring the love of his life back into his arms.

Sloan has loved Hawke just the same. But circumstances pulled her away. An ocean away. Now that she has returned, an ocean of secrets keeps her heart distant from Hawke. At some point, she knows she needs to tell him everything, but how can she? What if he ends up hating her? What if he can’t forgive her the way she can’t seem to forgive herself?

While this book was a good read and kept me eager, there were some points where it fell short for me.

  1. It seemed to jump a little bit in some places in the story where I would have to go back and reread and try to decipher what was actually happening. How they got to an arguement or how they forgave so quickly or how one thing was going on then something else.
  2. There was a lot of sex in this book, especially the first half. Much less towards the end.
  3.  It was a bit slow and repetitive (maybe because of all the sex). Maybe if Sloan told Hawke her secrets much earlier than nearly the end, it could have been more about them overcoming the obstacles. But that’s my opinion.

But these quotes in the story (all from Hawke) did me in:

That smile could power all the fireflies in the world.

Maybe you don’t love me, and maybe I don’t believe you.

More than your bare-naked body, all I have ever wanted is your bare-naked heart. Time has not changed that, for me.

rs_500x200-140606093857-tumblr_inline_moenagft7q1qz4rgp

Those quotes are what really kept me going. Those and Hawke’s apparent and unyielding love.

AFGCC wasn’t my cup of tea as listed above, but it was still good. Apparently, most people really like/love it. So don’t take me at my word alone. It kept me at the edge of my seat. Towards the middle of the book, I got a little frustrated with Sloan. Here was Hawke, a seemingly great guy, easing all of her fears and answering her questions, but when he wanted something in return from her, she locked up. There were a few times I grew tired of it, and had to walk away.

View on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

