All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

26114135

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood
5 beautiful stars!!


You know the kind of story where you cheer on the main characters, praying things work out for them even though you know you shouldn’t because it is absolutely inappropriate? Yeah, I didn’t either…

Before I even started this book, I gave myself a pep talk. I had heard plenty about the plot and how you either loved the book or you thought the story line was disgusting and repulsive. Well, here are my thoughts.

Emotional. Heart-breaking. Beautiful.

It was beautiful and wrong. And beautiful. And wrong. And I honestly loved this story so damn much. I read the whole book in less than 24 hours. I couldn’t put it down.

The story of Wavonna and Donal was heartbreaking, and all I wanted was for someone to love and take care of them. And that person comes along. He loves them. Then somewhere along the road of friendship things cross a line. And maybe that’s okay because they aren’t related. But at the same time, it’s not okay because of the age difference. But at the same time Wavy acts far older than she is because of the environment she grew up in. How could I not cheer on the budding friendship gone relationship of Kellan and Wavy?

This story is a roller coaster of emotions. I’m still not sure where I’ve landed other than this is such a beautiful story. Disturbing and heartbreaking and inappropriate.

But so damn beautiful.

For this book, let your heart drive. It will be worth it.

I’ve got a mad book hangover, so I’ll be drinking my weight in hot cocoa, watching Gilmore Girls, and crying at random moments for no good reason. Or for all the things that I will no longer say belong to me.


Favorite quotes:

Girl that age ought not to have so many troubles, but she did. Looking at it that way, them two was about made for each other.

“That night I first saw you, I was going too fast. There I was rubbernecking at you and dumped the bike. Wrecked me up. I don’t want to wreck us up like that. I don’t want you to get hurt.”

Most days I was impossible. Like a unicorn.


Blurb:

As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people that asks tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.

One thought on “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

  1. Inked Epiphanies says:

    All I knew about the book before starting it last night was that it gets spooky at times. I didn’t know much about the plot either before reading your review. SO I guess now I will be expecting things to get interesting between Wavonna and “the giant”! Idk how bad things will be getting between them but so far a couple of chapters got me hooked on it! Great review!!!

    P.S: High five for the Gilmore Girls and hot chocolate – my all time medication!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

