Torture to Her Soul (Monster in His Eyes #2) by J.M. Darhower

22021942

Torture to Her Soul (Monster in His Eyes #2) by J.M. Darhower


It’s not the darkness that’s terrifying, it’s what you might find in it.

The second book of this series is written from Naz’s POV, and OH. MY. GOD. I love this book more than the first. NAZ. NAZ. NAZ. He is a whole other species, a whole new breed of human and monster, and I’m the smitten kitten! I mean, how can you not fall for him? He is a complex character and I want to swim in all that is him.

Oh, Naz!!! I simply adore you and your monstrosities.

when-he-delivers-some-tough-love

Yes, Professor Snape. Okay, okay. Getting past my love for Naz now…

I do have a few complaints regarding the book. One: I found grammar errors and typos throughout. Two: Karissa in some scenes felt off. For example, I feel like her anger towards Naz was weak. It should have been more explosive in my opinion. And three: it felt like not a whole lot happened in this book. It was mostly a build up to the ultimate end. I’m thinking back to the first half or so, and all I remember is that Karissa and Naz were not in a good place.

Basically, the best part of this book and the book prior, is Naz. I wish I could say that I liked the other character, but, well, she isn’t my favorite. She’s not memorable. She doesn’t claw at my emotions. Not the way Naz does.

And honestly, he’s worth reading these books. If you couldn’t tell, I like Naz. A lot. A lot, a lot.

Rating: 3.5 stars!


Favorite quotes:

I’ll give her anything.
I’ll tear my fucking chest open with my bare hands, rip out my heart and hand it to her, if that’s what she needs.
All she has to do is tell me.
All she has to do is ask.

I hate when people smile needlessly, like their faces are puppets and corruption pulls the strings.

“I’m not a good man,” he says, “but I’m trying. I’m trying. I can’t make you any promises of perfection. I can’t promise I’ll be what you deserve, or what you need, or even what you always want. All I can promise is that I’ll love you until the day I die, and I’ll spend every moment I’m alive trying for you.”

She talks to me about regret, but what she doesn’t realize is that even if she destroys me in the end, I’ll never want to erase what we have. I’d never want to take back a single moment of this.

She’s not just under my skin, she’s in my organs, wrapped up in my cells, infecting me.


Blurb:

Don’t say it unless you mean it…

It’s a simple concept, one I’ve said time and again, but something people don’t seem to comprehend. You should choose every syllable carefully, because you never know when somebody will hold you to your word.

Somebody like me.

I’m not a good man. I’m not. I know. I have enough darkness inside of me to rid the world of every stitch of light. But there’s one I could never harm, one light I couldn’t bring myself to snuff out.

Karissa.

She thinks I’m a monster, and maybe I am. I taunt her with my touch, get a thrill out of torturing her soul. But I’m not the only one. The world is full of monsters, and I’m not the most dangerous one out there.

Not even close…

God help me, I love her.

I do.

And God help anyone who tries to take her from me.

Leave a Reply

