Grip (Grip #1) by Kennedy Ryan

31207572DNF – 35%

I don’t know how this happened. How I could have drastically loved the story of Flow – the prequel to Grip – but could not get into this for the life of me. I tried, especially after how the prequel ended. I wanted answers. I needed these characters to figure out their issues after how they left things in the first book, but it felt like it was too all over the board.

With the burn hot romance that was Flow, this story wasn’t sitting right with me. It wasn’t getting to the issues that I wanted. It was getting into racial issues and divides of present day. There was just too much of stuff I didn’t want and not enough of what I did.

Reading Flow left me with a desperation for knowledge. WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?! I was anxious to dig in and know. I knew there would be a lot of struggle coming up, but what I wasn’t expecting was to be informed that now eight years down the line they’re starting to crave each other again. That Bristol’s walls were built up so high she couldn’t even give him a chance to explain.

For years they remained friends.

For years they’ve worked together.

And only now something is happening? Because her assistant was sick and she needed to drop off Grip’s back at his place? And he just happened to have ordered her favorite dinner that they eat on the roof? Then get high together? Then kiss?

How has NONE of this happened sooner with their friendship and partnership in business? How had they spent that many years in silent friendship? If I were Grip, you can bet I would have shouted it from the rooftops. Made her stubborn ass listen. Because that is basically what it boils down to – stubbornness. And it pisses me off.

35%

I’m not far into Grip, and I can’t seem to get into this story like I did with the prequel. My initial thoughts is that the first part of this story isn’t quite believable.

The fact that it’s been eight years of friendship and it never crossed the lines of kissing? Ever? Not once? I find that too hard to believe. Especially with the fact that they work together and are drawn together. It didn’t quite add up for me. The timeline. Their friendship. It didn’t fit for me personally.

Maybe I’ll try reading this again in the future, but not now.


Blurb:

Resisting an irresistible force wears you down and turns you out. I know. I’ve been doing it for years.

I may not have a musical gift of my own, but I’ve got a nose for talent and an eye for the extraordinary. And Marlon James – Grip to his fans – is nothing short of extraordinary.

Years ago, we strung together a few magical nights, but I keep those memories in a locked drawer and I’ve thrown away the key. All that’s left is friendship and work.

He’s on the verge of unimaginable fame, all his dreams poised to come true. I manage his career, but I can’t seem to manage my heart.

It’s wild, reckless, disobedient. And it remembers all the things I want to forget.

Make sure you grab FLOW, the FREE prequel first! FLOW is chronicling the week of magical days and nights that will haunt Grip & Bristol for years to come. GRIP is the full-length conclusion of their story.

Leave a Reply

