The Shining by Stephen King

Sometimes human places, create inhuman monsters.

12977531

This is so much better than the movie!! Which we all generally know that going in, I suppose. For the longest time, I put off reading The Shining because I had already seen the movie. And not just once.

This book blew the movie out of the water. Why, oh, why did they have to have the movie stray from the raw terror of this book?! I’m so mad at myself for having seen that YEARS ago even though I had no control over that moment in time.

The book is always better. It’s just fact, and this book proves it.

Monsters are real. Ghosts are too. They live inside of us, and sometimes, they win.

While I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it didn’t hold my attention for extended lengths of time. I’m blaming some medication I’ve been on for that. That stuff makes me drowsy and sleepy, so that’s why it’s taken me so long to finish this book.

Even though I couldn’t read it for extended lengths of time, the effect of the story was not lessened. Anything KING is worth the read. His descriptions paint a picture of fear and the suspense that rides out the pages keeps you in a constant state of wondering. If you love KING, this is clearly a must.

Rating: 4.5 frightening stars!


Blurb:

Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. But as the harsh winter weather sets in, the idyllic location feels ever more remote…and more sinister. And the only one to notice the strange and terrible forces gathering around the Overlook is Danny Torrance, a uniquely gifted five-year-old.

Leave a Reply

