The Hot Shot (Game On #4) by Kristen Callihan

“Some things you don’t take a picture of, Chess. You live them.” I reach out to her. “Take my hand.”

FINNEGAN FREAKING MANNUS.

Overall the story was an excellent romance. The banter that was in Callihan’s previous books was there with this couple. They had me swooning and hungry for more. And that moment when they finally touch and combust. MY. GOD.

I am head over heels for Finn. He made me hungry for a relationship and a man who would be so willing to be there. No matter what. He was gold. He doesn’t live up to my wonderful Gray Grayson from book #2 of the series, but he was pretty damn close.

“Finn, what am I going to do with you?”
His smile is an easy glide, but his eyes hold mine a beat too long. “Keep me. I’m pretty sure I’m good for no one else.”

cat_fangirl

While Finn gets all the stars in the galaxy and love in my heart, Chess fell a little short on the likable scale. Not much. It’s so minuscule, but something wasn’t quite right. I understood her hesitation to be with a big bad football star. What I don’t feel like I got was much of a back story on her and why she felt or acted the way she did. She wasn’t unlikable, but she isn’t a favorite lead female either. Not even close.

“You keep making me breakfast, and you can stay here forever.”
She snickers. “I’d hold back on that declaration until you’ve tasted your breakfast. I’m not known for my cooking.”
Then I’ll make you breakfast forever.

The final conflict at the end comes a bit out of left field. Personally it wasn’t what felt like a strong problem for the characters to work through. It could have felt strong if the author would have given more time and effort into the book, maybe a proofread to see the holes that I noticed. And all the typo’s – SO MANY TYPO’S.

This was a great read for me. I’ve been looking for a simple romance that would get me out of my horror/thriller/fantasy loop. This definitely did that trick. Or, should I say, Mannus did the trick. If you’re looking for something light yet filled with ooey gooey romance, definitely check out this book!

Rating: 3.5 stars

Amazon | Goodreads


29541797

First we were friends. Then we were roommates. Now I want more…
What can I say about Chess Copper? The woman is capable of bringing me to my knees. I know this about five minutes after getting naked for her.
No one is more surprised than me. The prickly photographer my team hired to shoot our annual charity calendar isn’t my usual type. She’s defense to my offense, a challenge at every turn. But when I’m with her, all the regrets and darkness goes away. She makes life fun.

I want to know Chess, be close to her. Which is a bad idea.

Chess is looking for a relationship. I’ve never given a woman more than one night. But when fate leaves Chess without a home, I step up and offer her mine. We’re roommates now. Friends without benefits. But it’s getting harder to keep our hands off each other. And the longer we live together the more I realize she’s becoming my everything.

Trick is… Now that I’ve made her believe I’m a bad bet, how do I convince her to give this player a true shot at forever?

2 thoughts on “The Hot Shot (Game On #4) by Kristen Callihan

  1. Great review girl! I too thought Chess was a little flat. And the conflict at the end was a little random. But Finn made the book! And I’m surprised the typos weren’t fixed! I saw she said her editor was uploading a corrected version :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

