Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

It took me two tries to get into this book. Unfortunately, Joe Hill’s writing style was something else. Most books have a rhythm and flow. I struggled to find a smooth flow, which made reading in long sessions difficult. The first time I picked up the book, I struggled with the writing style and needed to take a break. When I decided to pick up the book a second time, I figured out the author’s flow a little better, and was able to continue and really get into the story.

And thank goodness I did give it a second chance because the story/plot itself is great! I knew the story line alone was going to drag me all the way to the very end, and it did just that. The creative mind is vividly displayed in this debut novel. The characters were not very likable at first, but they grew on me as the story continued. They were flawed and realistic, and made me enjoy the story that much more.

Overall, the plot was fantastic and had a lot of real potential, but his writing style in this book wasn’t my favorite. However, it will not deter me from trying another of his novels.

Rating: 3 stars

Amazon | Goodreads


153025Aging, self-absorbed rock star Judas Coyne has a thing for the macabre — his collection includes sketches from infamous serial killer John Wayne Gacy, a trepanned skull from the 16th century, a used hangman’s noose, Aleister Crowley’s childhood chessboard, etc. — so when his assistant tells him about a ghost for sale on an online auction site, he immediately puts in a bid and purchases it.

The black, heart-shaped box that Coyne receives in the mail not only contains the suit of a dead man but also his vengeance-obsessed spirit. The ghost, it turns out, is the stepfather of a young groupie who committed suicide after the 54-year-old Coyne callously used her up and threw her away. Now, determined to kill Coyne and anyone who aids him, the merciless ghost of Craddock McDermott begins his assault on the rocker’s sanity.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

Leave a Reply

