Seed by Ania Ahlborn

Her body went tense at the thought; she had assumed someone had come in, but the more she put it together the more it seemed like someone, or something, had gone out.

What can I say about this tale of terror… Amazing!

When I started this book, I knew after merely 25 pages of reading that this was not one to read before bed (my usual reading time), so it did take me longer to complete. I’m prone to night terrors and do my best to not… instigate my own personal demons, if you will. 😉

The characters are well put together. I loved reading about the differences between Jack and his wife Aimee and how they struggled, but still did what they could to make their marriage and home life work. Even when they were mad at each other. The children reminded me my own childhood, being vastly different from my sister in age and likes. Friends, family, and acquaintances were also well done being that they could be your average Joe next door. In other words, the characters brought a King-esque feel to mind… and you know I love the King of horror.

“I’ve never seen any miracles,” Reagan said, “but I sure as hell have seen my share of darkness. Does God exist? I don’t know. But I kind of hope he does. Because if he doesn’t? We’re probably fucked.”

I’ve been looking for a good possession type of story, and this one hit the nail on the head. The concept alone is terrifying, but to place yourself in these moments is truly captivating with fear. While overall this book did not terrify me to the point of stuffing my book in the freezer, there were scary moments that caused my skin to crawl.

And I have to say, Ania Ahlborn can kill it when it comes to book endings! They never disappoint. In all honesty, the ending was my favorite part. The inner workings of the story and getting to the end is all completely relevant and intriguing. BUT THAT ENDING…

scared01

Rating: 4 stars!

Amazon | Goodreads


61yjjmcsxalFans of Stephen King, Jack Kilborn, and Blake Crouch… prepare to meet the Devil.

In the vine-twisted swamps of Louisiana, the shadows have teeth.

Jack Winter has spent his entire life running from something no one else can see. His childhood is his darkest secret, but after a near fatal accident along a deserted road, the darkness he was sure he’d escaped rears its ugly head… and smiles.

But this time, he isn’t the only one who sees the soulless eyes of his past. This time, his six-year-old daughter Charlie leans into his ear and whispers: Daddy, I saw it too.

And then she begins to change.

Faced with reliving the nightmares of his childhood, Jack watches his daughter spiral into the shadows that had nearly consumed him twenty years before.

But Charlie isn’t the only one who’s changing.

Jack never outran the darkness. It’s been with him all along.

And it’s hungrier than ever.

A new breed of dark fiction: the subtlety of Seed will haunt you, and the end will wickedly satisfy.

7 thoughts on “Seed by Ania Ahlborn

  1. Ania is very quickly becoming one of my top all time fav Authors!! Brother is phenomenal!! I’m yet to read this one, so I’m so glad I came across your review. I’m glad you enjoyed it.. I’ve been torn on whether to read this or the neighbors next 🤔..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

