Abandoned Breaths by Alfa

If you’re looking for a poetry book to add to your collection, look no further. Alfa has blown me away again. Her first book was a chapbook, short and sweet. Abandoned Breaths is full and savory.

… and late at night
when you hit me up,
telling me you miss me,
and maybe we should
ย  ย  ย try again…
I know it is just loneliness
and familiarity.
You need instant gratification,
and you reach for your old
ย  ย stand by.
I am tired of feeding yourย 
sweet tooth, and then being
expected to encourage your
diet the next day.

Many of these pieces allowed my soul to sigh with the total truth Alfa allowed into her words.ย This book has all that your soul is seeking, and each poem is like a new breath. A new way to open. A fresh honesty.

There’s really not much I can say in regards to this book other than the fact that it’s amazing. I have so many quotes I want to share. I had them all typed up in this review and it was nothing but quotes from this book. But I didn’t want to spoil the refreshing air of this poetry collection.

I never knew
what magic felt like
until you cupped my face
in your hands
for a full nine seconds
before you kissed me.

I’m so happy to know such a beautiful human being and to have her work resting on my headboard at night.

Rating: 5 stars!

Amazon | Goodreads


34604945What happens to the words that never escape the confines of heartbroken souls?
When someone chooses to vacate your life, they seldom take everything with them when they leave. Closure is elusive. A heart still has questions. It is ruthless in its inquisition and stores every one of them in your soul.

Conversations.
Statements.
Declarations.
Endless dialogue.
Wordplay.
Rebuttals.
Pleas.
Questions.
Resignation.

Where do the words go?
The ones we wanted to say, but never got the chance?

They live on.

They don’t leave with their Muse.
They stay behind.
Abandoned.
Clinging, building, breathing, and aching to be heard.

Abandoned breaths longing to breathe.

I feel them emerging, and for once I do not stop them. I let them flow.
I release the heartache, in hopes that by doing so, these words will find other hearts and bring them a measure of comfort.
You are not alone.
When it comes to love, we all speak the same language.

” I am a collection of everything that has touched my skin. I have absorbed the pulse of the Universe.”

4 thoughts on “Abandoned Breaths by Alfa

  1. Oh Madalynโ€ฆ. I am the one who is blown away and so very humbled by this review. Thank you for being a light in so many lives with your support and encouragement. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

