The Tutor by K Larsen

I was provided an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

So, I’m in the minority here…

What first pulled me in what the cover. I mean, COME ON. It’s stunning and captivating and oh, so beautiful! But this is one of those times where you should not judge a book by its cover. 

The first couple chapters/sections felt pointless. They didn’t tell me anything the synopsis didn’t, and they were agonizingly short. Plus the sections felt disconnected somehow. I actually had to go back and reread it to try to decipher what was going on. I couldn’t follow what the author was trying to make the reader perceive. Some chapters were past, some were present – which is fine – but if you do that, the sections in chapters should not go past and present as well… There was too much flip flop for me.

Personally, as a reader and a writer, a lot of the content would have been better interwoven in a different areas. For the first quarter of the book, I was confused. 50 shades of confused. Finally pieces began to come together around the 20% mark.

This story was told from 6 different points of view. They were all fast paced and the content changed quickly. It didn’t help that most of the characters are female and none of them are distinguishable from reading their sections alone. I, also, did not connect with any of the characters. The author seems to have tried to create depth, but often times, the characters reactions weren’t realistic. None of these characters had me cheering them on.

While the overall plot could have been amazing, this author — for me — fell short. There is a saying for writers. Show, don’t tell. Well, this author is strictly tell and it was grinding my gears. She did this. He did that. Don’t TELL me, show me. Make me feel something… anything.

Honestly, I would not recommend it. Like I said, there is potential with the story line, but this author did not take it to the levels I imagined. If you’re a reader who likes an easy read, no connection, and a decent plot, then you might enjoy this.

Rating: 1 star

Amazon | Goodreads


33831652After a party gone wrong and in desperate need of money for the fall semester of college, twenty-year-old Nora Robertson needs to escape her hometown.

She accepts a summer long live-in tutoring job for a handsome man and his little sister at a secluded home deep in the mountains.

There is no running water.

No electricity.

No internet or cell service.

When her tutoring job ends she’s hit with a brutal turn of events … she’s not permitted to leave. After months in captivity, she makes a harrowing escape with her student that ends in a car accident on a desolate road. When Nora comes to, her student is missing. In a desperate attempt to find the girl, Nora will have to recount her time held captive.

The good and the bad.

Can Nora and the authorities work together to find the man who took her? Will they rescue the girl Nora tried to save?

Author’s Note: This is a dark romantic suspense.
Trigger warning: All of them. This will not elicit warm fuzzy feelings.

5 thoughts on “The Tutor by K Larsen

Leave a Reply

